Aggressive Theft Attorney Serving Brazoria County — Classification and Penalties
It is important to remember that the state of Texas classifies and penalizes theft offenses based on the total value of the property taken. A Class C Misdemeanor theft offense, for example, is the lowest level of offense in the state.
- Class C Misdemeanor Theft — Offenses that fall under this category concern property whose value does not exceed $100. Punishment may include a fine of up to $500.
- Class B Misdemeanor Theft — This class involves property whose value ranges from $100 to $750. Punishment includes a jail sentence not exceeding 180 days and/or a fine not exceeding $2,000.
- Class A Misdemeanor Theft — This classification concerns property whose value ranges from $750 to $2,500. Punishment includes a jail sentence not exceeding one year and a fine not exceeding $4,000.
- Felony Theft — Felony charges can result in circumstances where the value of the property is $2500 or more, the property taken was a firearm, aluminum, bronze, copper, brass, from a grave, or if you have prior theft convictions. Punishment for a felony offense can range from 180 days in a state jail to life in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Keep in mind that if you commit theft in the state of Texas, you may also be civilly liable to the victim. Civil penalties may include damages associated with the crime and/or a penalty not exceeding $1,000.
Perhaps unsurprisingly, prior convictions related to theft play a large role when it comes to subsequent charges. For example, if your record includes one prior conviction for any level of theft, any subsequent theft occurring in the state of Texas will become a Class B misdemeanor rather than a Class C misdemeanor.