Can I Go to Jail For Assault in Texas? Can I Go to Jail For Assault in Texas?

News Room

Can I Go to Jail For Assault in Texas?

Criminal charges of any kind can be intimidating and stressful, especially as you wonder how this incident will shape the course of your future. One of the biggest questions people have is whether they will spend time in jail for a particular offense. The thought of losing your freedom and facing a future with a criminal record is scary for many people, and they want to know how likely it is that they’ll be sentenced to prison if convicted. In Texas, the penalties for assaultive offenses range in severity and duration. Here’s a brief overview of the various penalties you could receive if convicted of assault in Texas.

Penalties for Misdemeanor Assaultive Offenses in Texas

The lowest-level assaultive offense is considered a Class C misdemeanor. These types of crimes typically involve verbal threats or offensive contact, where no physical harm actually occurs. If convicted of a Class C misdemeanor, you could pay up to $500 in fines but not face jail time. Class B misdemeanors carry a penalty of up to 180 days in county jail and a $2,000 fine. Instances of domestic assault or causing injury or pain are often considered Class A misdemeanors, which are punishable by up to one year in county jail and a $4,000 fine.

Felony Assault Crimes in the Houston Area

More serious assaultive offenses, such as those involving strangulation, suffocation, serious bodily injury, or a deadly weapon, are usually charged as felonies. A third-degree assault conviction carries a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison and $10,000 in fines, while a second-degree assault conviction may lead to up to 20 years in the state penitentiary and a $10,000 fine. The most serious assault charge, which is considered a first-degree felony, usually involves a deadly weapon and/or serious bodily injury, carries a maximum sentence of life imprisonment and a $10,000 fine. 

Contact a Skilled Criminal Defense Lawyer Right Away

If law enforcement has placed you under arrest for an assaultive offense, contact an attorney as soon as possible. Your lawyer will assess the details of your situation and advise you on what steps you can take to protect yourself and your rights. Additionally, your attorney can answer your questions and help you understand what to expect in the days, weeks, and months ahead. Simply having a clearer picture of what the future may hold can reduce your anxiety. Together, you and your attorney will work to obtain the best possible outcome given the specifics of your case.


If you are facing assault charges in Brazoria County, Pearland, or the Houston area, reach out to the Law Offices of Keith G. Allen, PLLC today at (832) 230-0075 to arrange a free consultation with a dedicated criminal defense attorney.

There’s no time to waste. Your defense starts with a free consultation.

Effective & reliable legal counsel throughout Pearland and Brazoria County.