DWI Defense

If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), working with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney gives you the best chance of obtaining a favorable outcome. Penalties can range from fines and driver’s license suspension to jail time and probation.

Defending Texas Residents Against DWI Charges

A night of celebration can turn serious in an instant. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) crimes in Texas carry substantial penalties, including potential time behind bars. Even after you have fulfilled the terms of your sentence, having a DWI conviction on your criminal record can create barriers to employment and housing, not to mention your reputation in the community. If you’ve been arrested for a DWI-related offense, reach out to an experienced attorney as soon as possible to discuss your situation. We’re here to examine every detail of the case to create the most effective legal strategy aimed at defending your legal rights and protecting your freedom. 

 

How Texas Defines DWI Offenses

Like most states, Texas takes DWI crimes seriously. Impaired driving can lead to property damage, severe injuries, and even the loss of life. Due to the substantial risks attached to risky driving behavior, the criminal penalties for DWI convictions are steep and costly. First, it’s helpful to understand how Texas law defines the act of driving while intoxicated. Title 10, Section 49.04 of the Texas Penal Code states, “A person commits an offense [driving while intoxicated] if the person is intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle in a public place.” Under Texas law, “intoxicated” means “not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body,” or having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. First-time offenders typically face a Class B misdemeanor charge, punishable by a minimum confinement of 72 hours and a maximum of 180 days in jail. However, other factors can escalate the severity of the charges, such as driving while intoxicated with a child passenger or having previous DWI convictions on your record.

 

How to Handle a First-Time DWI Charge in Texas

If Texas law enforcement pulls you over and places you under arrest for a DWI-related offense, you may wonder if you have to enlist legal representation to deal with this charge. Unfortunately, many first-time offenders naively believe they can explain their way out of the situation; however, making statements without a lawyer present may work against your best interests, as prosecutors can use your statements to further their case against you. Working with a skilled and experienced DWI defense attorney is the best way to ensure that you understand your rights and options during this chaotic time.

 

Customized and Effective Defense Strategies to Protect Your Future

While every defendant enjoys certain legal protections during the criminal justice process, violations are not unheard of. A dedicated criminal defense lawyer is ready to investigate every element leading up to and following your arrest, looking for any potential violations of your rights along the way. We will explore a wide range of innovative and effective defense strategies to fight your DWI case, such as examining the reason for the stop, challenging the results or administration of a field sobriety test, questioning the validity or accuracy of breath or blood test results, challenging witness testimony, or using the information in the police report to support your defense. 

 

The Time to Act is Now

DWI offenses impact your life in significant ways, so it’s essential to take action as swiftly as possible following your arrest. Once you reach out to our office, we will get to work immediately to avoid an automatic license suspension. To prevent this automatic suspension, we must request a hearing before an administrative law judge within 15 days of your arrest. From there, we will pour over every detail of your arrest and the evidence prosecutors are using to build a case against you. No matter what course your case takes, you can trust that attorney Keith G. Allen has the expertise and proven track record of success to represent your best interests.

 

If you are facing a DWI charge in Pearland or Brazoria County, call the Law Offices of Keith G. Allen, PLLC, today at (832) 230-0075 to schedule a free consultation with a trusted and experienced criminal defense lawyer.

If you’ve been arrested for a DWI-related offense, we will examine every detail of the case to create the most effective legal strategy aimed at defending your legal rights and protecting your freedom.

Effective & reliable legal counsel throughout Pearland and Brazoria County.