Things to Consider After Being Charged With Theft in Texas Things to Consider After Being Charged With Theft in Texas

News Room

Things to Consider After Being Charged With Theft in Texas

An arrest for any type of criminal offense can be upsetting and overwhelming, especially when you have no idea what to expect in the upcoming days, weeks, and months. In Texas, theft charges carry serious and lasting consequences that can affect your life long after your conviction. However, before you jump to the worst-case scenario, it’s important to discuss your situation with a skilled and knowledgeable Pearland criminal defense attorney. Together, you can prepare to face whatever comes next.

Understanding the Type of Theft Charge You’re Facing

First, it’s helpful to understand what type of theft charges prosecutors have brought against you. Under Title 7, Section 31.03 of the Texas Penal Code, “A person commits [theft] if he unlawfully appropriates property with intent to deprive the owner of property.” Basically, if you take something that does not belong to you without the owner’s consent, you may face accusations of theft. Shoplifting is a common form of theft, as is selling property that you know is not legally yours. You can discuss the specifics of your situation with your attorney to determine whether your alleged actions constitute misdemeanor or felony theft charges.

Familiarize Yourself With the Possible Penalties

If this is your first time navigating the Texas criminal justice system, it’s natural to assume that you’ll spend a long time behind bars, pay hefty fines, or face other harsh penalties. Before you imagine the worst, take some time to familiarize yourself with the types of theft charges and their corresponding penalties. In Texas, the value of the stolen property influences the severity of the consequences. For instance, theft involving property valued between $100 and $750 constitutes a Class B misdemeanor, resulting in a jail term of no more than 180 days and a fine of up to $2,000. In contrast, a theft of property or services valuing $300,000 or more is considered a first-degree felony, punishable by up to 99 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Invest in a Strong Legal Defense

If you are facing theft charges in Brazoria County or the Houston area, it’s natural to feel overwhelmed and concerned about your future. However, you do not have to go through this challenging time alone. Contact a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to discuss your case and ensure that your rights remain protected at every step of the criminal justice process. Now is not the time to leave your future and freedom in the hands of fate; instead, invest in defending yourself and your future by working with a trusted criminal defense lawyer who will fight hard to secure the best possible outcome given the specifics of the case.


Call the Law Offices of Keith G. Allen, PLLC, today at (832) 230-0075 to schedule a free consultation with a trusted and experienced Pearland criminal defense attorney.

There’s no time to waste. Your defense starts with a free consultation.

Effective & reliable legal counsel throughout Pearland and Brazoria County.