Understanding Marijuana Laws in Texas
Although several states have recently decriminalized minor marijuana possession, marijuana possession is still illegal in Texas and in some jurisdictions, the penalties can be severe. Having just a small amount of marijuana in your possession can end up costing you up to six months in a county jail.
Significant Penalties for Marijuana Possession
Currently, Texas law recognizes a wide range of marijuana charges, depending upon the amount possessed. For instance, being charged with possessing less than two ounces of marijuana, including even a very small amount, can carry a sentence of up to 180 days in the county jail and a $2000.00 fine. Additionally, if convicted, you would also lose your driver’s license for six months. If you are charged with possessing more than four ounces of marijuana, the crime is classified as a felony and you face confinement in a state jail facility or the state penitentiary.
Gifting or Selling Marijuana in Texas
Even giving small amounts of marijuana to a friend, any amount less than a quarter of an ounce, carries the potential of up to a six-month jail sentence and a two thousand dollar fine. Crimes involving the sale of marijuana also depend on the weight of the product. Selling marijuana of more than a quarter of an ounce is considered a felony.
Medical Marijuana Users: A Warning
If your state recognizes the use of medical marijuana, you may still be prosecuted under Texas law. The possession of marijuana, even for medical purposes, is still illegal in Texas, even if you carry a medical card from another state.
Aggressive Criminal Defense Firm Ready to Serve You
If you want to know more or if you are currently facing a marijuana related offense, contact the Law Offices of Keith G. Allen, PLLC as soon as possible. We provide reliable and effective criminal defense services, ensuring that your rights are protected every step of the way. Call (832) 230-0075 for a free initial consultation.